Künstlersekretariat - Astrid Schoerke

Maurice Steger

He has been celebrated as the “the Paganini of the recorder” by music critics and been succinctly described as “the world’s leading recorder virtuoso” (the Independent) – today Maurice Steger is one of the most fascinating recorder players, conductors and musical professors working in the sphere of Early music. In these different capacities, he thrills audiences around the world with a variety of concert formats.

Maurice Steger is an incredibly charismatic musician: spontaneous, captivating and full of energy. With his vibrant manner, intense and full instrumental sound and amazing technique, this “recorder wizard” has managed to bring to prominence the recorder as an instrument in all its fascinating forms. The 2015 ECHO Classic Award which he received as “Instrumentalist of the Year” is testimony to his success.

As a soloist, conductor or both at once, he regularly performs with the top period instrument ensembles, such as the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, the Venice Baroque Orchestra, the English Concert and I Barocchisti. He also performs with leading modern orchestras such as the Zurich Chamber Orchestra, the hr-Sinfonieorchester Frankfurt, the Musikkollegium Winterthur, the Berlin Baroque Soloists (Berlin Philharmonic), the Canadian Violons du Roy or the NDR Radiophilharmonie.

Chamber music plays a notable role in the richly varied spectrum of Maurice Steger’s artistic endeavours. With fellow musicians and friends such as Hille Perl, Daniele Caminiti, Naoki Kitaya, Mauro Valli, Sebastian Wienand, Fiorenza de Donatis, Diego Fasolis, Sol Gabetta or the young French harpsichordist Jean Rondeau, he dedicates himself to a continuously updated repertoire of Early music. Along with early music, Maurice Steger also engages with new concert formats and contemporary compositions.

Tours of Asia and Australia have led to performances with the Australian Brandenburg Orchestra, the Malaysia Philharmonic Orchestra, the Taipei Symphony among others. He was the first recorder player from the West to perform with the Traditional Taipei Chinese Orchestra. He also regularly performs in North and South America.

His commitment to musical education is also extremely important to him: besides the directorship of the Gstaad Baroque Academy at the Menuhin Festival Gstaad which he took over in 2013 in addition to diversemaster classes he invented the character of “Tino Flautino” in order to encourage young children to playfully engage with classical music. For his latest musical fairytale, he invented “Pinocchio and the recorder player”.

‘Mr. Corelli in London’, ‘Una Follia di Napoli’, ‘Vivaldi: Concerti per flauto’ and ‘Telemann: Recorder Works’ with The English Concert, I Barocchisti and the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin: numerous award-winning CD recordings published by harmonia mundi, most of them with highly imaginative thematic concepts, are a long-standing testament to the unique prominence achieved by this artist. In autumn 2016 his newest project “Souvenirs d’Italie” will be released with various works from manuscripts of Earl of Harrach. In spring 2018, a duo album with Nuria Rial with accompaniment by the Basel Chamber Orchestra will be released featuring Italian. The program will also be presented in chamber music concerts.

Season 2017/18
Any amendments or cuts need the consent of Künstlersekretariat Astrid Schoerke GmbH.

 

 

Summer concerts with Maurice Steger offer both variety and an abundance of tonal colour

29 June 2017

This summer, one musical highlight after another awaits Maurice Steger. On 30th June, the recorder player will travel with the Lautten Compagney Berlin to Astana, Kazakhstan. There, the […] more ...

Maurice Steger with the “Violons du Roy” in Canada

20 January 2017

The new year will take Maurice Steger directly overseas. On 26th and 27th of January in Quebec City and Montréal, he will conduct the chamber orchestra “Les Violons […] more ...

Maurice Steger – new CD “Souvenirs d’Italie”

1 November 2016

Heard the latest? On November 11, Maurice Steger will be publishing long forgotten, yet to be heard works on his latest CD, delightfully entitled Souvenirs d’Italie. In the […] more ...

Maurice Steger brings Venice to Hamburg

18 October 2016

When he prepares his exquisite programmes, Maurice Steger is musician, musicologist, interpreter, artist, historian and dramaturg all in one. In his current programme, he takes audiences on a […] more ...

Maurice Steger Down Under

18 February 2016

True to the very fitting title of “Recorder Revolutionary”, Maurice Steger and the Australian Brandenburg Orchestra along with Paul Dyer will be presenting a superb Baroque program on […] more ...

Maurice Steger delights audiences with Christmas tour

17 December 2015

Maurice Steger’s tour with the Cappella Gabetta this Christmas season is in full swing: After exceedingly successful concerts in Lucerne, Riehen, Bonmont, Munich and Kufstein, he will also […] more ...

Maurice Steger – Echo Instrumentalist of the Year

24 August 2015

Maurice Steger is awarded the sought-after ECHO recognising him as the Instrumentalist of the Year! His vibrant musicality and breathtaking technique continue to captivate audiences. Any doubts about […] more ...

Maurice Steger – Souvenirs

14 October 2016

Everyone has the odd souvenir at home to revisit fond memories. The same goes for the Austrian Count of Harrach, who travelled frequently as a diplomat, statesman and […] more ...

Maurice Steger – Pinocchio

13 October 2016

Children love stories and music, which is why Maurice Steger has joined composer Viktor Fortin to present the musical fairytale “Pinocchio and the Pied Piper of Hameln” that […] more ...

09.10.2017
07:30 pm
Promoter
  • Maurice Steger
Zurich – MAAG Halle
12.10.2017
08:00 pm
Promoter
  • Maurice Steger
Bad Ragaz – Kursaal
13.10.2017
08:00 pm
Promoter
  • Maurice Steger
Bad Ragaz – Kursaal
22.11.2017
07:30 pm
Promoter
  • Maurice Steger
Konstanz – Konzil
24.11.2017
07:30 pm
Promoter
  • Maurice Steger
Konstanz – Konzil
25.11.2017
08:00 pm
Promoter
  • Maurice Steger
Singen – Stadthalle
26.11.2017
06:00 pm
Promoter
  • Maurice Steger
Konstanz – Konzil
01.12.2017
08:30 pm
Promoter
  • Maurice Steger
Lugano – Auditorio Stelio Molo
03.12.2017
05:00 pm
Promoter
  • Maurice Steger
Lugano – Auditorio Stelio Molo
07.12.2017
08:00 pm
Promoter
  • Maurice Steger
Reutlingen – Stadthalle
11.12.2017
08:00 pm
Promoter
  • Maurice Steger
Erlangen – Heinrich-Lades-Halle
17.12.2017
04:00 pm
Promoter
  • Maurice Steger
Essen – Thyssenkrupp Quartier Großer Saal
22.12.2017
18:00
Promoter
  • Maurice Steger
Hannover – Galerie Herrenhausen

Maurice Steger conducts ZKO

Maurice Steger – Trailer for his new CD “Souvernirs d’Italie”

Maurice Steger, haben Sie Töne?

Maurice Steger: Antonio Vivaldi «Concerti per flauto», Harmonia Mundi 2014

ECHO Klassik 2015: Auftritt Maurice Steger

Maurice Steger «Una Follia di Napoli» Trailer

Maurice Steger plays Vivaldi (Concerti per flauto, harmonia mundi 2014)

EN DE
nach oben scrollen

Künstlersekretariat - Astrid Schoerke

Maurice Steger

Als „Paganini der Blockflöte“ und „The world’s leading recorder player“ wird er gepriesen – Maurice Steger gehört heute zu den angesehensten Blockflötisten, Dirigenten und Musikpädagogen auf dem Gebiet der Alten Musik. Sein Publikum begeistert er in verschiedenen Konzertformaten auf der ganzen Welt.

Maurice Steger ist ein ungemein charismatischer Musiker, spontan, mitreißend und voller Energie. Dem „Hexenmeister der Blockflöte“ gelang es dank seiner lebendigen Art, seiner intensiven Tongebung, und einer staunenswerten Technik, die Blockflöte in ihren faszinierenden Formen als Instrument neu zu positionieren. Der ihm 2015 verliehene ECHO Klassik als „Instrumentalist des Jahres“ bestätigt seinen Erfolg.

Regelmäßig kann man ihn – sei es als Solist, Dirigent oder in Doppelfunktion – mit den tonangebenden Originalklangensembles wie der Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, Venice Baroque Orchestra, The English Concert, den Violons du Roy aus Kanada oder I Barocchisti, als auch mit modernen Orchestern wie dem Zürcher Kammerorchester, dem hr-Sinfonieorchester Frankfurt, dem Musikkollegium Winterthur und der NDR Radiophilharmonie erleben.

Kammermusik nimmt ebenfalls einen hohen Stellenwert im breiten Spektrum von Maurice Stegers künstlerischer Tätigkeit ein. Mit befreundeten Musikern wie Hille Perl, Lee Santana, Naoki Kitaya, Mauro Valli, Sebastian Wienand, Fiorenza de Donatis, Diego Fasolis, Sol Gabetta oder auch dem jungen französischen Cembalisten Jean Rondeau widmet er sich immer wieder neuem Repertoire aus vergangenen Zeiten. Neben der Alten Musik setzt er sich zudem auch mit neuen Konzertformen und zeitgenössischen Kompositionen auseinander.

Tourneen durch Nord- und Südamerika, Asien und Australien führten ihn u.a. mit dem Australian Brandenburg Orchestra oder dem Malaysia Philharmonic Orchestra zusammen. Das traditionellen Taipei Chinese Orchestra lud ihn als ersten westlichen Flöten-Solisten ein.

Besonders wichtig ist ihm auch sein musikpädagogisches Engagement: Neben der Leitung der Gstaad Baroque Academy, die er 2013 zusätzlich zu verschiedensten Meisterklassen übernahm, konzipierte er die Figur des „Tino Flautino“, um die Kleinsten zu einem spielerischen Einstieg in die klassische Musik einzuladen. Als neuestes Musikmärchen entwarf er „Pinocchio und der Flötenspieler“.

Zahlreiche preisgekrönte, thematisch höchst fantasievoll konzipierte CD-Einspielungen bei harmonia mundi, wie beispielsweise ‚Mr. Corelli in London’, ‚Una Follia di Napoli’, ‚Vivaldi: Concerti per flauto’, ‚Telemann: Blockflötenwerke’ mit The English Concert, I Barocchisti und der Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, belegen seit Jahren den singulären Rang dieses Künstlers. Im Herbst 2016 erschien ‚Souvenirs d‘Italie‛ mit verschiedenen Werken aus den Manuskripten des Grafen von Harrach. Im Frühjahr 2018 wird ein Duo Album mit Nuria Rial begleitet vom Kammerorchester Basel mit italienischen Meisterstücken erscheinen und das Programm ebenfalls im Konzert präsentiert.

Saison 2017/18
Änderungen bzw. Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit der Künstlersekretariat Schoerke GmbH.

Vielseitige und farbenreiche Sommerkonzerte mit Maurice Steger

29. Juni 2017

Maurice Steger wartet in diesem Sommer mit einem musikalischen Highlight nach dem anderen auf. Am 30. Juni reist der Blockflötist mit der Lautten Compagney Berlin zur Expo nach […] mehr ...

Maurice Steger mit den „Violons du Roy“ in Kanada

19. Januar 2017

Das neue Jahr führt Maurice Steger direkt nach Übersee. In Quebec City und Montréal leitet er am 26. und 27.Januar das Kammerorchester “Les Violons du Roy”, eines der […] mehr ...

Maurice Steger: Souvenirs

1. November 2016

Es gibt Neues zu hören! Im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes, denn Maurice Steger veröffentlicht am 11. November bisher ungehörte und wiederentdeckte Werke auf seiner neusten CD mit dem […] mehr ...

Maurice Steger bringt Venedig nach Hamburg

18. Oktober 2016

Musiker, Musikwissenschaftler, Interpret, Historiker und Dramaturg ist Maurice Steger alles in einer Person, wenn er seine wunderbaren Programme entwirft. Auch seine musikalische Zeitreise ins barocke Venedig, die er […] mehr ...

Maurice Steger Down Under

18. Februar 2016

Unter dem überaus passenden Titel „Recorder Revolutionary” bringen Maurice Steger und das Australian Brandenburg Orchestra mit Paul Dyer ein famoses Barockprogramm auf die Bühnen von Sydney und Melbourne. […] mehr ...

Maurice Steger entzückt auf Weihnachtstournee

17. Dezember 2015

Maurice Stegers Weihnachtstournee mit der Cappella Gabetta ist in vollem Gange: nach überaus erfolgreichen Konzerten in Luzern, Riehen, Bonmont, München und Kufstein folgen noch Auftritte in Wilhelmshaven und […] mehr ...

Maurice Steger – Echo-Instrumentalist des Jahres

24. August 2015

Maurice Steger wird mit dem begehrten ECHO als Instrumentalist des Jahres ausgezeichnet! Immer wieder versetzt er sein Publikum durch seine sprudelnde Musikalität und atemberaubende Technik ins Staunen. Längst […] mehr ...

Maurice Steger & G.A.P. Ensemble

23. Oktober 2017

Maurice Steger, Blockflöte G.A.P. ENSEMBLE: Emilio Percan, Barockvioline Oriol Aymat Fusté, Barockvioloncello Luca Quintavalle, Cembalo   Programmvorschlag: G.F. Händel – Triosonate F-dur op. 2 Nr. 4 HWV 389 […] mehr ...

Maurice Steger und die Akademie für Alte Musik

20. Oktober 2017

Programm Februar 2019 Francesco Maria Veracini (1690-1768) Ouverture Nr. 6 g-Moll (Allegro – Adagio – Allegro – Menuett)                    Antonio Vivaldi Concerto per flauto in g-Moll („La Notte“) RV […] mehr ...

Maurice Steger – Souvenirs

12. Oktober 2016

Sicher besitzt jeder von uns das eine oder andere Souvenir, das an schöne Erlebnisse oder Orte erinnern soll. Ebenso ging es auch dem österreichischen Grafen von Harrach, der […] mehr ...

Maurice Steger – Pinocchio

12. Oktober 2016

Kinder lieben Geschichten und Kinder lieben Musik –  Zwei Tatschen, die Maurice Steger dazu bewegten gemeinsam mit dem Komponisten Viktor Fortin  das musikalische Märchen „Pinocchio und der Flötenspieler […] mehr ...

22.11.2017
19:30 Uhr
Veranstalter
  • Maurice Steger
Konstanz – Konzil
22.11.2017
19:30 Uhr
Veranstalter
  • Maurice Steger
Konstanz – Konzil
25.11.2017
20:00 Uhr
Veranstalter
  • Maurice Steger
Singen – Stadthalle
26.11.2017
18:00 Uhr
Veranstalter
  • Maurice Steger
Konstanz – Konzil
01.12.2017
20:30 Uhr
Veranstalter
  • Maurice Steger
Lugano – Auditorio Stelio Molo
03.12.2017
17:00 Uhr
Veranstalter
  • Maurice Steger
Lugano – Auditorio Stelio Molo
07.12.2017
20:00 Uhr
Veranstalter
  • Maurice Steger
Reutlingen – Stadthalle
11.12.2017
20:00 Uhr
Veranstalter
  • Maurice Steger
Erlangen – Heinrich-Lades-Halle
17.12.2017
16:00 Uhr
Veranstalter
  • Maurice Steger
Essen – Thyssenkrupp Quartier Großer Saal
22.12.2017
18:00 Uhr
Veranstalter
  • Maurice Steger
Hannover – Galerie Herrenhausen
14.01.2018
18:00 Uhr
Veranstalter
  • Maurice Steger
Wroclaw – National Forum of Music, Red Hall

Maurice Steger dirigiert das ZKO

Maurice Steger – Trailer zur neuen CD „Souvenirs d’Italie“

Maurice Steger, haben Sie Töne?

Maurice Steger: Antonio Vivaldi «Concerti per flauto», Harmonia Mundi 2014

ECHO Klassik 2015: Auftritt Maurice Steger

Maurice Steger «Una Follia di Napoli» Trailer

Maurice Steger plays Vivaldi (Concerti per flauto, harmonia mundi 2014)

EN DE
nach oben scrollen