Künstlersekretariat - Astrid Schoerke

Gustav Rivinius

Gustav Rivinius is the first and only German musician to be awarded a First Prize Gold Medal at the 1990 International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow. In addition, he received a special prize for the best interpretation of a Tchaikovsky composition, outperforming all other competitors. Since then he has appeared with leading musicians, orchestras and conductors around the world.

Among the many high points of an illustrious career, Gustav Rivinius has performed with the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Lorin Maazel, Ingo Metzmacher and Hans Zender. In celebrations marking the re-opening of the Spanish Hall at Prague Castle, Gustav Rivinius joined the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra and in a gala marking the 50th anniversary of the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra the cellist performed Beethoven’s Triple Concerto.

In the US, Gustav Rivinius has performed with the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra and with orchestras in Saint Louis, Cincinnati, Washington D.C. and the Houston Symphony. In Tokyo, he took the stage with the Moscow Philharmonic, in Seoul with the KBS Symphony Orchestra and in Beijing with the National Ballet Orchestra. He has worked together with conductors such as Marek Janowski, Christoph Eschenbach and Dmitri Kitajenko. He has also played alongside orchestras of Lisbon, Lyon, the Helsinki Philharmonic and the Swedish Radio Orchestra, as well as in Lucerne with the Tonhalle Orchester Zurich. Gustav Rivinius has appeared with all of Germany’s Radio Symphony Orchestras as well as with the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester, the Leipziger Gewandhaus and the Konzerthaus Orchester Berlin.

Along with his solo work, Gustav Rivinius has a passion for chamber music. He plays regularly alongside his brothers in the Rivinius Piano Quartet and does recitals with his brother Paul at the piano. Gustav Rivinius is also an annual participant in the Heimbach Spannungen festival along with his friends Lars Vogt, Christian Tetzlaff, Antje Weithaas, Isabelle Faust and Sharon Kam. This year, he will open the chamber music series at the Dvořák Festival in Prague with the Sharon Kam Quintet.

The musician also founded the Gasparo da Saló Trio, the Bartholdy String Quintet and the Tammuz Piano Quartet, which recorded both piano quartets by composer George Enescu for the CPO label. CPO has also released CDs featuring Gustav Rivinius’ performance of the Cello Concerto by Ermanno Wolf-Ferrari, accompanied by the HR Sympony Orchstra under Alan Francis, and along with the RSO Saarbrucken, a recital of “Ode to the West Wind”, conducted by Stanislaw Skrowaczewki (Arte Nova). Gustav Rivinius recorded the Brahms Clarinet Trio along with Sharon Kam and Martin Helmchen for Berlin Classics.

Gustav Rivinius is a Professor at the HFM University of Music in Saarbrucken. He is cofounder of the Kammermusiktage Mettlach and thus has been influencing the musical landscape of his native Saarland for over 30 years. He also teaches a number of masters courses annually, including at the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival. In addition he is a sought after juror at major music competitions and sat on the jury at the 2011 International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow.

Season 2018/2019 | Photo: Jean M. Laffitau
Any amendments or cuts need the consent of Künstlersekretariat Astrid Schoerke.

Gustav Rivinius is awarded the Kunstpreis of Saarland

11 October 2016

Saarland’s Ministry for Education and Culture is awarding Gustav Rivinius this year’s Kunstpreis. Minister of Education and Culture Commerçon congratulated the award winner declaring: “Both his work as […] more ...

Gustav Rivinius excels with Dutilleux

11 March 2016

Composed in 1970 and dedicated to Rostropovich, who also performed its original premiere, the cello concerto “Tout un monde lointain” by Dutilleux is one of the most demanding […] more ...

Duo Gustav and Paul Rivinius

3 June 2016

Duo Gustav and Paul Rivinius The cellist Gustav Rivinius, awarded the first prize of the International Tschaikowsky Competition in 1990 as the only German musician until recently, is […] more ...

No entries.

L. v. Beethoven

“Tripel-concert” C Major op. 56

E. Bloch

Schelomo”, Hebrew Rhapsody

L. Boccherini

Concert no. 7 G Major, G 480
Concert no. 9 B flat Major, G 482

J. Brahms

Double concert a minor op. 102

E. Denissov

Variations on a theme by Haydn (1982)

H. Dutilleux

Concert “Toute un monde lointain” (1970)

A. Dvorak

Concert b minor op. 104

E. Elgar

Concert e minor op. 85

J. Francaix

“Variations de concert” for cello and strings

J. Haydn

Concert C Major, Hob. VIIb: 1
Concert D Major, Hob. VIIb: 2

H. Henze

Ode an den Westwind

A. Honegger

Concert (1929)

E. Lalo

Concert d minor

W. Lutoslawski

Concert (1970)

F. Martin

Ballade for cello and small orchestra (1949)

B. Martinu

Concert no. 2 (1945)

N. Miaskowski

Concert c minor op. 66

D. Milhaud

Concert no. 1

M.G. Monn

Concert G Major

S. Prokofiev

Sinfonia concertante op. 125 (1950)

O. Respighi

Adagio con variationi

C. Saint-Saëns

Concert a minor op. 33

A. Schnittke

Concert no. 1 (1986)

O. Schoeck

Concert op. 61 (1947) for cello and strings

A. Schoenberg

Concert D Major

R. Schumann

Concert a minor op. 129

D. Schostakowitsch

Concert no. 1 op. 107 (1959) Concert no. 2 op. 126 (1966)

R. Strauss

Don Quixote op. 35

P.I. Tschaikovsky

Rococo-Variations op. 33
Pezzo capriccioso op. 62

H. Vieuxtemps

Concert no. 1 a minor op. 46
Concert no. 2 b minor op. 50

Sir W. Walton

Concert (1957)

B.A. Zimmermann

“Canto di speranza” (1957) for cello and small orchestra “Pas de trois”

No entries.

Gustav Rivinius plays de Falla El amor brucho

Gustav Rivinius and the Arkas Trio

Gustav Rivinius – Masterclass at the Conservatori del Liceu

Gustav Rivinius and the Orkestra Akademik Başkent

EN DE
nach oben scrollen

Künstlersekretariat - Astrid Schoerke

Gustav Rivinius

Als bisher einziger deutscher Musiker wurde Gustav Rivinius mit dem 1. Preis und der Goldmedaille des Internationalen Tschai-kowsky Wettbewerbs 1990 ausgezeichnet.Der damals 24jährige Cellist erhielt zudem den Sonderpreis für die beste Interpretation eines Tschaikowsky-Werkes aller Teilnehmer.Seither konzertiert er auf der ganzen Welt mit führenden Musikern, Orchestern und Dirigenten.

Höhepunkte seiner bisherigen Karriere sind die Aufführungen mit dem Sinfonieorchester des BR unter Lorin Maazel, Ingo Metzmacher sowie Hans Zender. Zur Wiedereröffnung des Goldenen Saals der Prager Burg spielte Gustav Rivinius das Dvorak Konzert mit der Tschechischen Philharmonie unter der Leitung von Vaclav Neumann und zum 50-jährigen Bestehen der Bamberger Symphoniker, wo er mehrere Male als Solist zu Gast war.

In den USA war Gustav Rivinius bereits Gast beim Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, bei den Orchestern von Saint-Louis, Cincinnati, Washington D.C. und dem Houston Symphony. In Tokio spielte er mit den Moskauer Philharmonikern, in Seoul mit dem KBS Symphony Orchestra und in Beijing mit dem National Ballett Orchestra. Dabei arbeitete er zusammen mit Dirigenten wie Marek Janowski, Christoph Eschenbach und Dmitri Kitajenko. Gustav Rivinius konzertierte mit den Orchestern von Lissabon, Toulouse, Lyon, dem Helsinki Philharmonic und dem Swedish Radio Orchestra unter Valery Gergiev, sowie in Luzern mit dem Tonhalle Orchester Zürich unter David Zinman. In Deutschland trat er bereits mit allen Rundfunksinfonieorchestern, mit dem Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin, dem Konzerthaus Orchester Berlin und dem Leipziger Gewandhaus auf.

Neben dem solistischen Auftreten widmet sich Gustav Rivinius der Kammermusik. Regelmäßig musiziert er mit seinen Brüdern im Rivinius Klavier Quartett, sowie in Recitals mit seinem Bruder Paul am Klavier. Beim Heimbach Festival „Spannungen“ gehört er zum festen Musikerkreis. Er ist dort u. a. mit seinen musikalischen Freunden Lars Vogt, Christian Tetzlaff, Antje Weithaas, Isabelle Faust und Sharon Kam jedes Jahr zu hören, auch auf den zahlreichen CD-Mitschnitten des Festivals. Diese Saison wird er im Quintett mit u.a. Sharon Kam die Kammermusikserie des Dvořák-Festivals in Prag eröffnen.

Er gründete das Trio Gasparo da Salò, das Bartholdy Streichquintett und das Tammuz Piano Quartet, mit welchem er die beiden Klavierquartette von George Enescu für cpo einspielte. Auf CD erschienen außerdem das Cellokonzert von Ermanno Wolf-Ferrari bei cpo mit dem Sinfonieorchester des HR unter Alan Francis und von H.W. Henze die „Ode an den Westwind“ mit dem RSO Saarbrücken unter Stanislaw Skrowaczewski (Arte Nova). Mit Sharon Kam und Martin Helmchen spielte der das Brahms Klarinettentrio für Berlin Classics ein.

Gustav Rivinius unterrichtet seit vielen Jahren als Professor an der Hochschule für Musik Saar. Er ist Mitbegründer der Kammermusiktage Mettlach und beeinflusst damit seit über 30 Jahren die musikalische Landschaft in seinem heimatlichen Saarland. Er gibt jährlich Meisterkurse, z.B. beim Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival und ist regelmäßig Juror bedeutender Musikwettbewerbe wie z.B. 2011 beim Tschaikowsky Wettbewerb in Moskau.

Saison 2018/2019 | Foto: Jean M. Laffitau
Änderungen und Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit der Künstlersekretariat Schoerke GmbH.

Gustav Rivinius mit Zimmermanns Cellokonzert zu Gast in Mannheim

29. September 2017

Genauso vielschichtig wie der Kompositionsstil von Bernd Alois Zimmermann ist das Cellospiel von Gustav Rivinius, was ihn als einen herausragenden Interpreten dessen Musik auszeichnet. Am 01. Oktober stellt […] mehr ...

Gustav Rivinius erhält Kunstpreis des Saarlandes

11. Oktober 2016

Das Kultusministerium des Saarlandes verleiht Gustav Rivinius den diesjährigen Kunstpreis des Landes. Kultusminister Commerçon gratuliert dem Preisträger mit den Worten: „Sowohl sein Schaffen als Musiker als auch seine […] mehr ...

Gustav Rivinius überzeugt mit Dutilleux

11. März 2016

Entstanden 1970, gewidmet an Rostropovich und von selbigem auch uraufgeführt, gilt das Cellokonzert „Tout un monde lointain“ von Dutilleux als eines der anspruchsvollsten und einflussreichsten Cellokonzerte des 20-igsten […] mehr ...

Duo Gustav und Paul Rivinius

2. Juni 2016

Leidenschaftlich gerne und überaus erfolgreich widmet sich der Cellist Gustav Rivinius, der 1990 als bisher einziger deutscher Musiker mit dem 1. Preis des Internationalen Tschaikowsky Wettbewerbs ausgezeichet wurde, […] mehr ...

Keine Eintragungen.

Beethoven
Tripelkonzert C-Dur op. 56

Bloch
„Schelomo“, Hebräische Rhapsodie

Boccherini
Konzert Nr. 7 G-Dur G 480
Konzert Nr. 9 B-Dur G 482

Brahms
Doppelkonzert a-moll op. 102

Denissov
Variationen über ein Thema von Haydn (1982)

Dutilleux
Konzert „Toute un monde lointain“ (1970)

Dvorak
Konzert h-moll op. 104

Elgar
Konzert e-moll op. 85

Francaix
„Variations de concert“ für Cello und Streicher

J. Haydn
Konzert C-Dur Hob. VIIb/1
Konzert D-Dur Hob. VIIb/2

Honegger
Konzert (1929)

Lalo
Konzert d-moll

Lutoslawski
Konzert (1970)

Martin
Ballade für Cello und kleines Orchester (1949)

Martinu
Konzert Nr. 2 (1945)

Miaskowski
Konzert c-moll op. 66

Milhaud
Konzert Nr. 1

Monn
Konzert G-Dur

Prokofieff
Sinfonia concertante op. 125 (1950)

Respighi
Adagio con variationi

Saint-Saëns
Konzert a-moll op. 33

Schnittke
Konzert Nr. 1 (1986)

Schoeck
Konzert op. 61 (1947) für Cello und Streicher

Schönberg
Konzert D-Dur

Schumann
Konzert a-moll op. 129

Schostakowitsch
Konzert Nr. 1 op. 107 (1959)
Konzert Nr. 2 op. 126 (1966)

Strauss
Don Quixote op. 35

Tschaikovsky
Rokoko-Variationen op. 33
Pezzo capriccioso op. 62

Vieuxtemps
Konzert Nr. 1 a-moll op. 46
Konzert Nr. 2 h-moll op. 50

Walton
Konzert (1957)

Zimmermann
„Canto di speranza“ (1957) für Cello und kleines Orchester „Pas de trois“

Keine Eintragungen.

Gustav Rivinius spielt de Falla El amor brucho

Gustav Rivinius mit dem Arkas Trio

Gustav Rivinius – Masterclass am Conservatori del Liceu

Gustav Rivinius mit dem Orkestra Akademik Başkent

EN DE
nach oben scrollen