Künstlersekretariat - Astrid Schoerke

Trio Jean Paul

Eckart Heiligers, piano
Ulf Schneider, violin
Martin Löhr, violoncello

 

The Trio Jean Paul in its present form has remained unchanged for more than 2 decades and continues to rank among the most successful and sought-after chamber music ensembles today. The trio captivates audiences around the world with its sophisticated ensemble culture, keen sense of tonal aesthetics not to mention the musicality of the three artists with their poised style. 

Their career together started with first prizes at competitions in Melbourne and Osaka as well as at the Deutsche Musikwettbewerb. The name of the ensemble was also quickly set: Jean Paul was the favorite poet of Robert Schumann, whose works are particularly dear to the trio. As more than a mere namesake to the trio, the name reveals the musicians primary aim: to explore the similarities of music and language and make it audible for the audience.

Their engagements regularly take the ensemble to major concert halls around the world such as the Wiener Konzerthaus, Berliner Philharmonie, Palais des Beaux Arts Brussels or Wigmore Hall in London. Their extensive tours take them to the USA, Canada, Spain, Italy, the Netherlands, Switzerland and Austria.

The ensemble’s work focuses on the performance of contemporary repertoire, which also includes numerous original premieres by famous composers. Wolfgang Rihm dedicated his “Trio Concerto” to the ensemble which the Trio premiered in 2014 at the Berliner Philharmonie together with the WDR Sinfonieorchester under Jukka-Pekka Saraste. Further performances with the Dallas Symphony Orchestra, the Tonhalle-Orchester Zurich and the NDR Radiophilharmonie Hanover followed.

Numerous CD productions by the trio garnered prizes: The recording of Brahm’s Trio in B major and Schönberg’s “Verklärte Nacht” was awarded the “Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik”; the recording of the two Mendelssohn trios in 2009 and the Schubert trios in 2012 under the CAvi Music label were distinguished with the “Supersonic-Award”. In 2015 their CD featuring piano trios by Joseph Haydn (also under the CAvi-Music label) was brought on the market. Momentarily the Trio enthuses with their newly released CD of Brahm’s String Sextets arranged for Piano Trio by the composer’s friend Theodor Kirchner.

 

Short biographies

Eckart Heiligers, piano
studied under Karl-Heinz Kämmerling in Hanover and Leon Fleisher in Baltimore (USA). His achievements earned numerous scholarships early on from  the Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes, the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), the Deutscher Musikwettbewerb as well as a France Graage Performance Scholarship. Eckart Heiligers delivered award-winning performances at numerous international competitions in Vercelli, Athens, Salt Lake City, Oslo and others. His concert work is characterised by tremendous breadth as  he regularly performs as a soloist, chamber musician and vocal accompanist. He also serves as professor for piano and chamber music at the Zurich University of the Arts. His work also has him offering master classes both in Germany and abroad as well as participating as a jury member at international music competitions.

Ulf Schneider, violin
studied in Hanover, New York and Berlin under Jens Ellermann, Masao Kawasaki, Felix Galimir and Thomas Zehetmair. During his studies, he won numerous prizes as well as scholarships and was a member of the Zehetmair Quartett for several years. Today, he performs internationally both as a soloist as well as in various chamber music formations ranging from the duo to quintet.
The recordings of his ensemble with the Ars Musici, Membran, Cavi and ECM labels have earned widespread praise and accolades among the critical press.
Ulf Schneider plays a Carlo Giuseppe Testore instrument from 1725 –  a generous loan from a private collector from Germany arranged by Violin Assets GmbH.

Martin Löhr, violoncello
completed his studies under Wolfgang Mehlhorn in Hamburg, Zara Nelsova at the Juilliard School in New York and Wolfgang Boettcher at the Berlin University of the Arts. He is also a recipient of a scholarship from the Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes, a Masefield scholarship, was included in the Federal Selection of Concerts for Young Artists and was awarded the prize of the Mozartgesellschaft Wiesbaden. In 1995, he won 1st prize at the “Jeunesses Musicales” International Cello Competition in Belgrade.
Martin Löhr is a solo cellist for the Berliner Philharmoniker, teaches at the Orchestra Academy and is a regular lecturer at master courses in Germany and abroad. His extensive concert performances include, in addition to orchestral concerts, solo performances as well as chamber music in a variety of formations.

Season 2017/2018
Changes and abridgement must be coordinated with Künstlersekretariat Astrid Schoerke GmbH

Isabelle van Keulen with the Tio Jean Paul at the Beethovenfest in Bonn

18 September 2017

The Beethovenfest in Bonn has a long tradition: it first took place in 1845 on the occasion of Beethoven’s 75th birthday in his homeland. The Tio Jean Paul […] more ...

Trio Jean Paul on tour in Canada

14 September 2016

Audiences in Calgary and Kingston can look forward to extraordinary musical performances  by the Trio Jean Paul that will feature a sophisticated musical programme. With Hayden, Beethoven and […] more ...

Trailer for new Trio Jean Paul CD

5 January 2016

Trio Jean Paul is releasing a new CD true to the motto “sextets performed as piano trios” where the Trio plays both string sextets no. 1 and 2 […] more ...

New Brahms CD from Trio Jean Paul

13 November 2015

Trio Jean Paul is releasing a new CD true to the motto “sextets performed as piano trios” where the Trio plays both string sextets no. 1 and 2 […] more ...

Trio Jean Paul – program suggestion for the season

14 October 2016

The three musicians, who have played together for over 25 years, are perfectly attuned both in terms of their music and approach to interpretation. And the result is […] more ...

21.09.2017
08:00 pm
Promoter
  • Trio Jean Paul
Siegburg – Stadtmuseum
23.10.2017
01:00 pm
Promoter
  • Trio Jean Paul
London – Wigmore Hall
24.10.2017
07:30 pm
Promoter
  • Trio Jean Paul
Salzburg – Mozarteum
29.10.2017
05:00 pm
Promoter
  • Trio Jean Paul
Bayreuth – Zentrum Europasaal

TRIO JEAN PAUL plays BRAHMS String Sextets arr. by Th. Kirchner for Piano Trio

EN DE
nach oben scrollen

Künstlersekretariat - Astrid Schoerke

Trio Jean Paul


Eckart Heiligers, Klavier
Ulf Schneider, Violine
Martin Löhr, Violoncello

Seit mehr als 2 Jahrzehnten besteht das Trio Jean Paul in unveränderter Besetzung und gehört auch heute noch zu den gefragtesten und erfolgreichsten Kammermusikensembles. Sein Publikum lässt sich weltweit von der hohen Ensemblekultur, feinfühligen Klangästhetik und stilsicheren Musikalität der drei Musiker verzaubern. 

Schon am Anfang ihrer gemeinsamen Karriere starteten sie durch, mit ersten Preisen bei Wettbewerben in Melbourne und Osaka sowie beim Deutschen Musikwettbewerb. Auch der Name war rasch gefunden: Jean Paul, Lieblingsdichter von Robert Schumann, dessen Werke dem Trio  besonders am Herzen liegen. Der Dichter als Namenspatron verrät auch, worauf es den Musikern besonders ankommt: die Sprachähnlichkeit von Musik herauszuarbeiten und für das Publikum hörbar zu machen.

Engagements führen das Ensemble regelmäßig in die bedeutenden Konzertsälen der Welt wie z.B. ins Wiener Konzerthaus, die Berliner Philharmonie, den Palais des Beaux Arts Brüssel oder die Wigmore Hall in London. Auf ausgedehnten Tourneen treten sie u.a. in den USA, Kanada, Spanien, Italien, in den Niederlande, der Schweiz und Österreich auf.

Ein Schwerpunkt der Arbeit des Ensembles ist die Aufführung von zeitgenössischem Repertoire, wozu auch zahlreiche Uraufführungen namhafter Komponisten zählen. Wolfgang Rihm widmete dem Trio sein „Trio Concerto“, welches das Trio 2014 in der Berliner Philharmonie mit dem WDR-Sinfonieorchester unter der Leitung von Jukka-Pekka Saraste uraufführte. Weitere Aufführungen mit dem Dallas Symphony Orchestra, dem Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich und der NDR Radiophilharmonie Hannover folgten.

Zahlreiche CD-Produktionen des Trios wurden mit Preisen ausgezeichnet: Die Aufnahme von Brahms Trio in H-Dur und Schönbergs „Verklärte Nacht“ mit dem „Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik“, die Einspielung der beiden Mendelssohn Trios 2009 und der Schubert Trios 2012 bei CAvi-Music mit dem „Supersonic-Award“. 2015 erschien ihre CD mit Klaviertrios von Joseph Haydn (ebenfalls bei CAvi-Music). Aktuell begeistert das Trio mit einer Aufnahme von Brahms Streichsextetten in der Bearbeitung des Brahms-Freund Theodor Kirchner für Klaviertrio.

Für weitere Informationen besuchen Sie die Homepage www.triojeanpaul.de.


Kurzbiografien


Eckart Heiligers, Klavier

studierte bei Karl-Heinz Kämmerling in Hannover und Leon Fleisher in Baltimore (USA). Bereits früh wurden seine Leistungen durch zahlreiche Stipendien ausgezeichnet. Dazu gehören die Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes, der DAAD, der Deutscher Musikwettbewerb und ein France Graage Performance Scholarship. Eckart Heiligers war Preisträger vieler internationaler Wettbewerbe u.a. in Vercelli, Athen, Salt Lake City und Oslo. Seine Konzerttätigkeit ist enorm vielseitig. Regelmäßig tritt er als Solist, Kammermusiker und Liedbegleiter auf. Außerdem unterrichtet er als Professor für Klavier und Kammermusik an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste. Meisterkurse im In- und Ausland und die Tätigkeit als Juror bei internationalen Musikwettbewerben ergänzen seine Aktivitäten.

Ulf Schneider, Violine
studierte in Hannover, New York und Berlin bei Jens Ellermann, Masao Kawasaki, Felix Galimir und Thomas Zehetmair. Während seiner Studienzeit gewann er zahlreiche Preise und Stipendien und war für mehrere Jahre Mitglied des Zehetmair-Quartetts. Heute konzertiert er international solistisch sowie in verschiedenen kammermusikalischen Formationen vom Duo bis zum Quintett.
Die Aufnahmen seiner Ensembles, von der Fachpresse hochgelobt und ausgezeichnet, sind bei den Labels Ars Musici, Membran, CAvi und ECM erschienen.Ulf Schneider spielt ein Instrument von Carlo Giuseppe Testore aus dem Jahre 1725 – eine großzügige Leihgabe eines privaten Sammlers aus Deutschland, vermittelt durch die Violin Assets GmbH.

Martin Löhr, Violoncello
absolvierte sein Studium bei Wolfgang Mehlhorn in Hamburg, bei Zara Nelsova an der Juilliard School in New York und bei Wolfgang Boettcher an der Universität der Künste in Berlin. Auch er ist Stipendiat der Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes, außerdem erhielt er ein Masefield Stipendium, war in der Bundesauswahl „Konzerte junger Künstler“ und bekam den Förderpreis der Mozartgesellschaft Wiesbaden. 1995 gewann er den 1. Preis beim Internationalen Cellowettbewerb „Jeunesses Musicales“ in Belgrad.
Martin Löhr ist Solocellist der Berliner Philharmoniker, unterrichtet an der Herbert-von-Karajan-Akademie und ist regelmäßiger Dozent bei Meisterkursen im In- und Ausland. Seine umfangreiche Konzerttätigkeit beinhaltet neben Orchesterkonzerten auch Soloauftritte und Kammermusik in unterschiedlichen Formationen.

Saison 2017/2018
Änderungen bzw. Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit der Künstlersekretariat Schoerke GmbH.

 

Isabelle van Keulen bereichert das Trio Jean Paul beim Beethovenfest in Bonn

18. September 2017

Das Beethovenfest in Bonn hat Tradition: erstmals fand es 1845 anlässlich Beethovens 75. Geburtstag in seiner Heimat statt. Tradition hat auch das Trio Jean Paul, das bereits seit […] mehr ...

Das Trio Jean Paul auf Tour in Kanada

14. September 2016

Das Publikum in Calgary und Kingston kann sich auf exquisiten musikalischen Besuch freuen. Das Trio Jean Paul spielt in den beiden Städten ein anspruchsvolles Kammermusikprogramm. Mit Haydn, Beethoven […] mehr ...

Trailer zur neuen Trio Jean Paul CD

5. Januar 2016

Das Trio Jean Paul hat im November 2015 eine neue CD herausgebracht, die nach dem Motto „Sextette als Klaviertrios“ entstanden ist. So spielt das Trio die beiden Streichsextette […] mehr ...

Neue Brahms-CD des Trio Jean Paul

13. November 2015

Das Trio Jean Paul bringt eine neue CD heraus, die nach dem Motto „Sextette als Klaviertrios“ entstanden ist. So spielt das Trio die beiden Streichsextette Nr. 1 und […] mehr ...

Trio Jean Paul Saisonprogramme 2017-2019

20. Oktober 2017

      Programmvorschlag I: Trio-Perlen Mozart Trio G-Dur KV 564 Trio E-Dur KV 542 Trio C-Dur KV 548 Trio B-Dur KV 502 Programmvorschlag II: Mozart – Trio […] mehr ...

Trio Jean Paul – Programmvorschläge

12. Oktober 2016

Nach 25 Jahren gemeinsamen Musizierens sind sich die drei Musiker aufs engste vertraut, sowohl Zusammenspiel als auch Interpretationsansatz sind genauestens aufeinander abgestimmt. Trotzdem ist von Langeweile nichts zu […] mehr ...

Keine Eintragungen.

TRIO JEAN PAUL plays BRAHMS String Sextets arr. by Th. Kirchner for Piano Trio

EN DE
nach oben scrollen