Künstlersekretariat - Astrid Schoerke

Ruth Killius

Ruth Killius’s extraordinary ability to use her instrument to revive the wealth of viola literature from the Classical to the Modern Age is without equal. The versatility of her playing has bestowed her instrument with new meaning. In particular, through her passionate commitment to contemporary music, she has successfully made the viola an essential part of the music of the 21st century.

Ruth Killius, who studied under Ulrich Koch and Kim Kashkashian, expanded her standard repertoire for the viola with the addition of contemporary music. She collaborated in the performance of numerous original premieres in the Brian Ferneyhough String Trio together with members of Geneva’s Ensemble Contrechamps as well as in Elliott Carter’s Oboe Quartet with Heinz Holliger and has also inspired composers: Commissioned by the Salzburger Festspiele, Heinz Hollinger wrote his double concerto “Janus” to be performed by a violin, viola and a small orchestra for her. The performance of the original premiere of John Casken‘s double concerto “That Subtle Knot”, dedicated to the duo Thomas Zehetmair and Ruth Killius, together with the Royal Northern Sinfonia attracted widespread attention.

Together with Thomas Zehetmair, Ruth Killius formed the Zehetmair Quartett in 1994, which is now considered one of the world’s best string quartets. A recording featuring String Quartets no. 4 by Hindemith and no. 5 by Bartók was cited as a reference recording in the media and was distinguished with the Diapason d’Or of the year. The ensemble’s most recent album is dedicated to Beethoven, Bruckner, Hartmann and Holliger.

For ECM, Ruth Killius has recorded a CD featuring works by Elliott Carter and Isang Yun together with Heinz Holliger and Thomas Demenga. The recording released under the Glossa label featuring Mozart’s “Sinfonia Concertante” with the Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century under Frans Brüggen also attracted widespread attention. A recording of Bartók’s Viola Concerto and Casken’s Double Concerto “That Subtle Knot” is currently in the works.

The duo Thomas Zehetmair and Ruth Killius can be heard in numerous music centres. The widely regarded album “Manto and Madrigals”, inspired by Scelsis “Manto” for a singing violist featuring works from Bartók, Holliger, Martinů et al. was released under ECM in March 2011.

 

Season 2017/2018
Changes and abridgement must be coordinated with Künstlersekretariat Schoerke.

Thomas Zehetmair and Ruth Killius – a variety of concerts in London

12 October 2016

Thomas Zehetmair’s talent for skilfully combining his many aptitudes with one another is without equal. In the coming two weeks, he will do just that in London. There, […] more ...

Ruth Killius Artist in Residence in Augsburg

7 October 2016

As Artist in Residence, Ruth Killius will take concert audiences in Augsburg on a musical journey through a broad repertoire for the viola. In multiple solo and chamber […] more ...

Trio Alexander debuts with summer concerts

15 July 2016

After getting to know one another while collaborating on concert performances, violinist Willi Zimmermann, violist Ruth Killius and cellist Daniel Haefliger now perform as a trio. Willi Zimmermann […] more ...

Aldeburgh Music Festival – Thomas Zehetmair – Ruth Killius

27 May 2016

Thomas Zehetmair will be attending this year’s Aldeburgh Music Festival in England where he will perform not one, but three concerts. The festival has been held since 1948 […] more ...

The Zehetmair Quartett is on tour!

18 January 2016

After winning the 2014 Hindemith Prize awarded by the city of Hanau, the Zehetmair Quartett will also be presenting an exciting programme including one of the composer’s pieces […] more ...

No entries.

No entries.

No entries.

EN DE
nach oben scrollen

Künstlersekretariat - Astrid Schoerke

Ruth Killius

Ruth Killius versteht es wie kaum eine andere Künstlerin ihr Instrument zu nutzen um die umfangreiche Violaliteratur von Klassik bis Moderne zu Gehör zu bringen. Durch ihre Vielseitigkeit verleiht sie dem Instrument eine neue Bedeutung. Besonders durch ihr Interesse und Engagement für zeitgenössische Musik gelingt es ihr die Viola fest als Bestandteil des musikalischen 21. Jahrhunderts zu verankern.

Das Standardrepertoire für ihr Instrument erweitert Ruth Killius, die bei Ulrich Koch und Kim Kashkashian studierte, mit zeitgenössischer Musik. Sie wirkte in zahlreichen Uraufführungen mit, z.B. in Brian Ferneyhoughs Streichtrio mit Mitgliedern des Genfer Ensembles Contrechamps und in Elliott Carters Oboenquartett mit Heinz Holliger. Auch inspiriert sie Komponisten: Im Auftrag der Salzburger Festspiele schrieb Heinz Holliger mit „Janus“ ein Doppelkonzert für Violine, Viola und kleines Orchester. Die Uraufführung des dem Duo Thomas Zehetmair und Ruth Killius gewidmeten Doppelkonzerts „That Subtle Knot“ von John Casken mit den Royal Northern Sinfonia hat außerdem große Aufmerksamkeit erhalten.

Zusammen mit Thomas Zehetmair gründete Ruth Killius 1994 das Zehetmair Quartett, das inzwischen zu den führenden Streichquartetten weltweit gehört. In den Medien als Referenzaufnahme besprochen wurde eine Aufnahme mit den Streichquartetten Nr. 4 von Hindemith und Nr. 5 von Bartók, die ebenfalls mit dem Diapason d’Or des Jahres ausgezeichnet wurde. Das jüngst veröffentlichte Album des Ensembles ist Beethoven, Bruckner, Hartmann und Holliger gewidmet.

Für ECM hat Ruth Killius zusammen mit Heinz Holliger und Thomas Demenga eine CD mit Werken von Elliott Carter und Isang Yun aufgenommen. Die beim Label Glossa erschienene Aufnahme mit Mozarts „Sinfonia Concertante“ und dem Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century unter der Leitung von Frans Brüggen gilt als Referenzaufnahme. Die Veröffentlichung einer Einspielung von Bartóks Violakonzert und Caskens Doppelkonzert mit dem Royal Northern Sinfonia ist mit ECM in Planung.

Im Duo mit Thomas Zehetmair ist Ruth Killius in zahlreichen Musikzentren zu hören. Bei ECM erschien im März 2011 das viel beachtete Album „Manto and Madrigals“, inspiriert von Scelsis „Manto“ für einen singenden Viola-Spieler mit Werken u.a. von Bartók, Holliger und Martinů.

 

Saison 2017/2018 | Foto Keith Pattison
Änderungen bzw. Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit dem Künstlersekretariat Schoerke

Thomas Zehetmair und Ruth Killius – vielseitige Konzerte in London

12. Oktober 2016

Thomas Zehetmair versteht es wie kaum ein anderer seine facettenreichen Vorlieben miteinander zu verbinden. Dies stellt er in London in den nächsten zwei Wochen eindrücklich unter Beweis. Er […] mehr ...

Ruth Killius Artist in Residence in Augsburg

7. Oktober 2016

Ruth Killius nimmt das Augsburger Konzertpublikum als Artist in Residence mit auf eine musikalische Reise durch das vielseitige Bratschenrepertoire. In mehreren Solo- und Kammermusikkonzerten stehen Berio, Mozart, Hindemith, […] mehr ...

Trio Alexander startet mit Sommerkonzerten

15. Juli 2016

Bei gemeinsamen Konzerten haben sie sich kennengelernt und gemeinsam musizieren sie nun als Trio, der Geiger Willi Zimmermann, Bratschistin Ruth Killius und Cellist Daniel Haefliger. Willi Zimmermann war […] mehr ...

Aldeburgh Music Festival – Thomas Zehetmair – Ruth Killius

27. Mai 2016

Thomas Zehetmair ist beim diesjährigen Aldeburgh Music Festival in England mit gleich 3 Konzerten vertreten. Das Festival besteht seit 1948 und kein geringerer als Benjamin Britten begründete es. […] mehr ...

Das Zehetmair Quartett ist on tour!

18. Januar 2016

Als Preisträger des Hindemith-Preises 2014 der Stadt Hanau hat das Zehetmair Quartett auch in dieser Saison ein Werk des Komponisten im Programm, anlässlich einer Europatournee. In Wien, Florenz […] mehr ...

Keine Eintragungen.

Keine Eintragungen.

Keine Eintragungen.

EN DE
nach oben scrollen