Künstlersekretariat - Astrid Schoerke

Radu Lupu

Born in Romania, Radu Lupu began taking piano lessons from Lia Busuioceanu at the age of six.  At the young age of 12, he made his public debut with a complete programme of his own music.  He continued his studies for several years with Florica Muzicescu and Cella Delavrancea before winning a scholarship in 1961 to the Moscow Conservatoire, where he studied with Galina Eghyazarova, Heinrich Neuhaus and later with Stanislav Neuhaus.  He won first prize in three competitions:  the 1966 Van Cliburn, the 1967 Enescu International, and the 1969 Leeds International.

Mr Lupu has performed in conjunction with many of the most prestigious orchestras of the world.  He made his Salzburg Festival debut in 1978, conducted by Karajan and the Berlin Philarmonic Orchestra. Lupu has also worked with the Vienna Philharmonic, with which he opened the 1986 Salzburg Festival under Muti, along with the Royal Concertgebouw, all of the major London orchestras, and each of the great American orchestras. In the United States, his first significant appearances were in 1972 with the Cleveland Orchestra and Barenboim in New York, as well as with the Chicago Symphony and Giulini. He has been featured at many notable music festivals worldwide and has been a regular guest at the Salzburg and Lucerne Festivals.

His recordings for Decca include the Beethoven Piano Concertos, Brahms Concerto No 1, Grieg and Schumann Concertos, the complete collection of Mozart Violin and Piano Sonatas with Szymon Goldberg, Debussy and Franck Violin and Piano Sonatas with Kyung Wha Chung. In addition, he has recorded solo works by Beethoven, Brahms, Schumann and Schubert. In 1995, he won two awards in the category “Best Instrumental Record of the Year”: a Grammy for Schubert’s Sonatas in A major D664 and B flat major D960, and an Edison Award for Schumann’s Kinderszenen, Kreisleriana and Humoresque. He has also compiled two records with Murray Perahia (CBS), two albums with Barbara Hendricks (EMI) of Schubert Lieder and a collection of pieces for four hands by Schubert with Daniel Barenboim (Teldec).

Mr Lupu’s prior concerto engagements have included the London Symphony Orchestra and Sir Colin Davis, for his 85th birthday celebration no less, the Luxemburg Orchestra, Santa Cecilia Orchestra, Chicago Symphony, St. Louis Symphony, Boston Symphony, Orchestre de Paris, Berlin RSB and the Mozart Orchestra Bologna. He has held recitals in Paris, Geneva, Genova, Turin, Aix-en-Provence, Vicenza, the Brescia and Bergamo Festival, as well as in several cities in the US including at New York’s esteemed Carnegie Hall. Ten separate tours to Japan and performances in Seoul, Korea augment this impressive list.

In 2006, Mr Lupu was presented with two awards: the Premio Internazionale Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli, and, for a second time after his previous win in 1989, the Abbiati prize, conferred by the Italian Critics’ Association.

 

Season 2017/2018

Any amendments or cuts need the consent of Künstlersekretariat Astrid Schoerke.
Photo: Klaus Rudolph

Radu Lupu and Daniel Barenboim perform four handed pieces in the Boulez Saal

6 March 2017

On 8th March, two musical legends of our age will convene in Berlin’s Pierre-Boulez Saal to present an unforgettable evening of piano. Radu Lupu and Daniel Barenboim, two […] more ...

Radu Lupu – Recital Tour in February 2017

10 February 2017

Radu Lupu is doubtless one of the most renowned pianists of our time. Born in Romania and educated in Moscow, he has for years fascinated audiences worldwide with […] more ...

Radu Lupu visits the Munich Philharmonic

20 October 2016

Radu Lupu is without a doubt one of the most prominent pianists and sought-after soloists in the world. In October, he will once again join the Munich Philharmonic […] more ...

Radu Lupu on tour with the Kremerata Baltica

18 January 2016

Radu Lupu will perform not one, but two world-class Mozart concertos during his small, but select tour with the Kremerata Baltica: Concertos no. 27 in B major and […] more ...

Radu Lupu, a piano legend, in Leipzig and Vienna

28 September 2015

Joined by the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig led by conductor Riccardo Chailly, audiences will have the chance to witness yet another extraordinary performance by Radu Lupu on 01, 02 and […] more ...

No entries.

No entries.

No entries.

EN DE
nach oben scrollen

Künstlersekretariat - Astrid Schoerke

Radu Lupu

Der 1945 in Rumänien geborene Pianist begann im Alter von sechs Jahren seinen Klavierunterricht bei Lia Busuioceanu. Als 12-jähriger bestritt er sein öffentliches Debüt mit einem Programm aus eigenen Kompositionen. Er setzte seinen Unterricht bei Florica Muzicescu und Cella Delavranca in Rumänien fort, bevor er 1961 ein Stipendium für das Tschaikowski Konservatorium in Moskau gewann. Dort studierte er bei Galina Eghyazarova, Heinrich Neuhaus und später Stanislav Neuhaus. Radu Lupu gewann erste Preise bei drei bedeutenden Klavierwettbewerben: 1966 beim Van Cliburn-, 1967 beim Enescu- und 1969 beim Leeds-Wettbewerb.

Er ist regelmäßiger Gast bei wichtigen internationalen Orchestern wie dem Royal Concertgebouw, den Londoner Orchestern, den Wiener Philharmonikern und den Berliner Philharmonikern, mit denen er unter Herbert von Karajan 1978 bei den Salzburger Festspielen debütierte und diese acht Jahre später mit den Wiener Philharmonikern unter Riccardo Muti eröffnete. Auch in den USA ist Radu Lupu seit seinen ersten Konzerten mit dem Chicago Symphony Orchestra unter Carlo Maria Giulini und dem Cleveland Orchestra unter Daniel Barenboim im Jahr 1972 ein viel gefragter Solist.

Seine Einspielungen bei Decca umfassen alle Beethoven Klavierkonzerte, Brahms’ 1. Klavierkonzert, die Klavierkonzerte von Grieg und Schumann, sämtliche Mozart-Sonaten für Violine und Klavier (mit Szymon Goldberg), Sonaten für Violine und Klavier von Debussy und Franck (mit Kyung Wha Chung) sowie Solowerke von Beethoven, Brahms, Schumann und Schubert. Zudem spielte er je zwei Aufnahmen mit Murray Perahia (CBS) und Barbara Hendricks (Schubert-Lieder, EMI) ein. Bei Teldec erschien eine CD mit Werken zu vier Händen von Schubert im Duo mit Daniel Barenboim. 1995 wurden seine Aufnahmen der Schubert-Sonaten A-Dur D 664 und B-Dur D 960 mit dem Grammy ausgezeichnet. Im selben Jahr erhielt Radu Lupu für seine Einspielung von Schumanns Kinderszenen, der Kreisleriana und der Humoreske op. 20 den Edison Award.

In der Vergangenheit war Radu Lupu u. a. mit folgenden Orchestern zu hören: dem London Symphony Orchestra unter Sir Colin Davis (zu dessen 85. Geburtstag), dem Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg (Emanuel Krivine), dem Santa Cecilia Orchestra (David Afkham), dem Chicago Symphony (Riccardo Muti), dem St. Louis Symphony (David Robertson), dem Boston Symphony (Christoph von Dohnanyi), dem Orchestre de Paris (Thomas Hengelbrock), dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin (Marek Janowski), den Berliner Philharmonikern (Bernard Haiting) und mit dem Mozart Orchestra Bologna (Claudio Abbado). Mit Klavierabenden gastierte Radu Lupu u.a. in Paris, Genf, Genua, Turin, in der New Yorker Carnegie Hall sowie in Vicenza, Aix-en-Provence und den Festivals in Brescia und Bergamo. Bereits zehnmal reiste Radu Lupu auf Tournee nach Japan und konzertiert dabei auch in Seoul/Südkorea.

2006 wurden ihm zwei Auszeichnungen verliehen: die „Premio Internazionale Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli“ und bereits zum zweiten Mal der „Abbiati“-Preis der italienischen Kritikervereinigung, den er bereits 1989 erhalten hatte.

Saison 2016/2017 | Foto Klaus Rudolph
Änderungen bzw. Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit dem Künstlersekretariat Schoerke

Radu Lupu und Daniel Barenboim vierhändig im Boulez Saal

6. März 2017

Zwei musikalische Giganten unserer Tage treffen am 08. März im Pierre-Boulez-Saal in Berlin zusammen und gestalten einen unvergleichlichen Klavierabend. Radu Lupu und Daniel Barenboim, die beiden Jahrhundertpianisten,   verbindet […] mehr ...

Radu Lupu – Rezitaltour im Februar 2017

7. Februar 2017

Zweifelsohne ist Radu Lupu einer der bedeutendsten Pianisten unserer Tage. Seit Jahrzehnten  fasziniert der in Rumänien geborene und in Moskau ausgebildete Pianist weltweit mit seinem ehrlichen und kompromisslosen […] mehr ...

Radu Lupu bei den Münchner Philharmonikern

20. Oktober 2016

Radu Lupu ist zweifelsfrei einer der bedeutendsten Pianisten und schon seit Jahrzehnten einer der gefragtesten Solisten weltweit. Im Oktober ist er wieder zu Gast bei den Münchner Philharmonikern […] mehr ...

Radu Lupu auf Tournee mit der Kremerata Baltica

18. Januar 2016

Gleich zwei Mozartkonzerte gibt Radu Lupu auf einer kleinen aber feinen Tournee mit der Kremerata Baltica zum besten: die beiden Konzerte Nr. 27 in B-Dur und Nr. 23 […] mehr ...

Radu Lupu, Legende am Klavier, in Leipzig und Wien

28. September 2015

Mit dem Gewandhausorchester Leipzig unter dem Dirigat von Riccardo Chailly wird Radu Lupu am 01., 02. und 03. Oktober in Leipzig, sowie am 05. Oktober in Wien auf […] mehr ...

Keine Eintragungen.

02.06.2017
19:30 Uhr
Veranstalter
  • Radu Lupu
Berlin – Pierre Boulez Saal
19.06.2017
20:00 Uhr
Veranstalter
  • Radu Lupu
Düsseldorf – Museum Kunstpalast

Keine Eintragungen.

EN DE
nach oben scrollen