Künstlersekretariat - Astrid Schoerke

Isabelle van Keulen

”Her taut musical intelligence and vivid sound combined with a fine instinct for the tender, searching quality of this music … absolutely magical.” The Guardian

From her home in the Netherlands, Isabelle van Keulen has captivated the entire world – both on the violin and viola. She is an experienced performer on major concert stages; her charismatic demeanor and musical versatility make her one of the most sought-after musicians of our time.

She regularly performs with leading orchestras including the Berlin Philharmonic, the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Bavarian Radio and NDR symphony orchestras, the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, the Tonhalle-Orchester Zurich, the NHK Symphony Orchestra Tokyo, the London Philharmonic Orchestra, the Hallé Orchestra Manchester and the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra. She is also a popular performer in the USA performing regularly with the country’s foremost orchestras. Her performances see her collaborating with prominent conductors such as Valery Gergiev, Philippe Herreweghe, Andrew Manze, Andris Nelsons, Sir Roger Norrington, Hugh Wolff and David Zinman.

Isabelle van Keulen’s work also leaves ample room for chamber music. Her long-time partners on the piano are Ronald Brautigam, with whom she has collaborated in artistic projects for decades, and Hannes Minnaar. With Minnaar, she released a recording of all Beethoven’s Violin Sonatas (2014) earning widespread praise from critics and the press alike. She also performs concerts with mezzo-soprano Christiane Stotijn and clarinettist Sharon Kam. From 1997 to 2006, Isabelle van Keulen served as the Artistic Director of the Delft Chamber Music Festival, which she decisively shaped through her dedication and musical expertise.

Isabelle van Keulen’s repertoire spans numerous works from the 20th and 21st century including composers such as Henri Dutilleux, John Adams, Sofia Gubaidulina, Colin Matthews, Lera Auerbach and Brett Dean. The recording of the violin concerto dedicated to her by Erkki-Sven Tüür, which Isabelle van Keulen performed with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra under Paavo Järvi, earned considerable praise in the press and is a remarkable achievement.

Her discography boasts an enormous range of musical work. Her duo recordings where she performs with Ronald Brautigam, a recording of the violin concerto of Alban Berg alongside the Göteborg Symphony Orchestra under Mario Venzago and recordings featuring the entire collection of Beethoven’s violin sonatas with Hannes Minnaar mentioned are also remarkable achievements. In the fall of 2015, the 2nd instalment of Piazzolla’s Tango nuevo was released, which was recorded with the Isabelle van Keulen Ensemble.

Since the fall of 2012, she has worked as a Professor of Violin, Viola and Chamber Music at the Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts. In addition, she assumes the artistic direction as Artist in Residence with the Deutsche Kammerakademie Neuss this season.

 

Season 2017/2018
Changes and abridgement must be coordinated with Künstlersekretariat Schoerke.
Photo: Marco Borggreve

Isabelle van Keulen performs down under

1 November 2017

Isabelle van Keulen is currently visiting faraway Australia. On the 27th, 28th and 30th of October, she presented highly successful performances of Prokofiev’s First Violin Concerto with the […] more ...

Isabelle van Keulen is Artist in Residence and Artistic Director of the Kammerakademie Neuss

29 September 2017

With 90% of the tickets for the coming months already sold, Isabelle van Keulen is launching two very promising seasons as Artist in Residence and Artistic Director of […] more ...

Isabelle van Keulen with the Tio Jean Paul at the Beethovenfest in Bonn

18 September 2017

The Beethovenfest in Bonn has a long tradition: it first took place in 1845 on the occasion of Beethoven’s 75th birthday in his homeland. The Tio Jean Paul […] more ...

Isabelle van Keulen with the Netherslands Symphony Orchestra

19 April 2017

Returning home to the Netherlands on 21st and 23rd April, , Isabelle van Keulen will take to the stage in Enschede and Utrecht alongside the Netherland Symphony Orchestra […] more ...

Isabelle van Keulen assumes the artistic direction of the German Chamber Academy Neuss

31 March 2017

As the Artist in Residence, Isabelle van Keulen will assume the artistic direction of the German Chamber Academy Neuss for the coming 2017/2018 season. In so doing, she […] more ...

London Philharmonic Orchestra welcomes Isabelle van Keulen

23 January 2017

The concert with the London Philharmonic Orchestra under Principal Conductor Vladimir Jurowski in der Royal Festival Hall marks a special highlight for Isabelle van Keulen in this artistically […] more ...

Isabelle van Keulen on tour in the Netherlands with the Amsterdam Sinfonietta

8 November 2016

This November, Isabelle van Keulen will once again be welcomed by the Amsterdam Sinfonietta. In six concerts at cities across the Netherlands, she will perform “The American Four […] more ...

The Royal Ballet welcomes Isabelle van Keulen in Amsterdam

18 March 2016

The project by the name of “Best of Balanchine“ will present the most popular works of legendary twentieth century ballet choreographer George Balanchine in 10 performances.For these performances, […] more ...

Isabelle van Keulen Ensemble on tour

28 January 2016

Isabelle van Keulen is touring with her ensemble in February. As usual, the troupe will be performing the passionate tangos of Astor Piazzolla. In Madrid und Alicante, the […] more ...

Isabelle van Keulen and the Pražák Quartet

26 October 2017

In the upcoming seasons, Isabelle van Keulen will bring her long-time experience as a violinist and violist in different chamber music formations to the unique tradition of the […] more ...

Isabelle van Keulen & Ronald Brautigam

20 October 2017

Isabelle van Keulen | Violin & Viola            Ronald Brautigam | Piano   Program suggestions: Programm 1 L.v. Beethoven – Sonata for violin and piano op. 12/1 D […] more ...

Isabelle van Keulen Ensemble – Tango!

13 October 2016

Astor Piazzollas Tango Nuevo presents his own world within the musical cosmos, which is exactly what fascinates Isabelle van Keulen when she immerses herself in the mysterious, emotionally […] more ...

07.12.2017
07:00 pm
Promoter
  • Isabelle van Keulen
Oslo – Konserthus
15.12.2017
07:30 pm
Promoter
  • Isabelle van Keulen
London – Wigmore Hall
08.01.2018
01:00 pm
Promoter
  • Isabelle van Keulen
London – Wigmore Hall
10.01.2018
08:00 pm
Promoter
  • Isabelle van Keulen
Bonn – Beethoven-Haus
26.01.2018
07:30 pm
Promoter
  • Isabelle van Keulen
Warsaw – Philharmonic Concert Hall
27.01.2018
06:00 pm
Promoter
  • Isabelle van Keulen
Warsaw – Philharmonic Concert Hall

No entries.

EN DE
nach oben scrollen

Künstlersekretariat - Astrid Schoerke

Isabelle van Keulen

Von ihrer Heimat den Niederlanden aus erobert Isabelle van Keulen die ganze Welt – und dies auf Violine und Viola gleichermaßen! Sie ist auf den großen Konzertpodien zu Hause und durch ihre charismatische Ausstrahlung sowie musikalische Vielseitigkeit eine der gefragtesten Musikerinnen unserer Zeit.

Sie tritt regelmäßig mit bedeutenden Orchestern auf. Dazu zählen die Berliner Philharmoniker, das Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, die Rundfunkorchester des BR und NDR, das Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, das Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, das NHK Symphony Orchestra Tokyo, das London Philharmonic Orchestra, das Hallé Orchestra Manchester und das Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra. Auch in den USA ist sie ein gern gesehener und regelmäßiger Gast bei den führenden Orchestern. Dabei arbeitet sie u.a. mit Dirigentengrößen wie Valery Gergiev, Philippe Herreweghe, Andris Nelsons, Sir Roger Norrington, Hugh Wolff und David Zinman zusammen.

Auch die Kammermusik findet ihren Platz in Isabelle van Keulens Schaffen. Ihre festen Partner am Klavier sind Ronald Brautigam, mit dem sie bereits eine jahrzehntelange erfolgreiche künstlerische Zusammenarbeit verbindet sowie Hannes Minnaar. Mit ihm liegt eine von Kritik und Presse hochgelobte Einspielung aller Beethoven Violinsonaten (2014) vor. Außerdem konzertiert sie mit der Mezzo-Sopranistin Christiane Stotijn und der Klarinettistin Sharon Kam. Von 1997 bis 2006 war Isabelle van Keulen Künstlerische Leiterin des Delft Chamber Music Festival, das sie durch ihr Engagement und ihr musikalisches Know-how maßgeblich prägte.

Isabelle van Keulens Repertoire umfasst zahlreiche Werke des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts, deren Aufführung ihr ein besonderes Anliegen ist. Dazu gehören Kompositionen von Henri Dutilleux, John Adams, Sofia Gubaidulina, Colin Matthews, Lera Auerbach und Brett Dean. Hervorzuheben ist die Aufnahme des ihr gewidmeten Violinkonzertes von Erkki-Sven Tüür, das Isabelle van Keulen mit dem City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra unter Paavo Järvi einspielte und damit in der Presse besondere Beachtung fand.

Ihre Diskographie zeigt die enorme Bandbreite ihres musikalischen Schaffens. Einen besonderen Stellenwert haben dabei die Duo-Aufnahmen mit Ronald Brautigam, eine Aufnahme des Violinkonzerts von Alban Berg an der Seite des Göteborg Symphony Orchestra unter Mario Venzago, sowie die bereits erwähnte Gesamteinspielung von Beethovens Violinsonaten mit Hannes Minnaar. Nach der Aufnahme von Beethovens Violinkonzert D-Dur op.61, der Romanzen für Violine und Orchester Nr. 1 und 2 und dem Triplekonzert op. 56, gemeinsam mit dem Pianisten Stefan Vladar und dem Cellisten Julian Steckel, erscheint im Frühjahr bereits die dritte CD des von Isabelle van Keulen gegründeten Ensembles mit Piazzollas Tango Nuevo.

Seit Herbst 2012 ist sie Professorin für Violine, Viola und Kammermusik an der Hochschule für Musik in Luzern. Zusätzlich übernimmt Sie seit dieser Saison als Artist in Residence bei der Deutschen Kammerakademie Neuss die künstlerische Leitung.

 

Saison 2017/2018 | Foto Marco Borggreve
Änderungen bzw. Kürzungen bedürfen der Abstimmung mit dem Künstlersekretariat Schoerke

Isabelle van Keulen konzertiert „Down Under“

1. November 2017

In diesen Tagen ist Isabelle van Keulen zu Besuch im fernen Australien. Mit dem Melbourne Symphony Orchestra unter der Leitung von Andrew Manze hat sie am 27., 28. […] mehr ...

Isabelle van Keulen ist Artist in Residence und künstlerische Leiterin der Kammerakademie Neuss

29. September 2017

Mit bereits 90% verkaufter Karten der kommenden Saison startet Isabelle van Keulen als Artist in Residence und künstlerische Leiterin der Kammerakademie Neuss zwei äußerst vielversprechende Spielzeiten. In der […] mehr ...

Isabelle van Keulen bereichert das Trio Jean Paul beim Beethovenfest in Bonn

18. September 2017

Das Beethovenfest in Bonn hat Tradition: erstmals fand es 1845 anlässlich Beethovens 75. Geburtstag in seiner Heimat statt. Tradition hat auch das Trio Jean Paul, das bereits seit […] mehr ...

Isabelle van Keulen mit dem Netherlands Symphony Orchestra

19. April 2017

Zurück in ihrer Heimat den Niederlanden steht Isabelle van Keulen am 21. und 23. April mit dem Netherland Symphony Orchestra (neuerdings Orkest van het Oosten) unter dem Taktstock […] mehr ...

Isabelle van Keulen übernimmt die künstlerische Leitung der Deutschen Kammerakademie Neuss

31. März 2017

Als Artist in Residence übernimmt Isabelle van Keulen ab der kommenden Saison 2017/2018 die künstlerische Leitung der Deutschen Kammerakademie Neuss. Sie tritt dabei die Nachfolge von Lavard Skou […] mehr ...

Isabelle van Keulen zu Gast beim London Philharmonic Orchestra

23. Januar 2017

Das Konzert mit dem London Philharmonic Orchestra unter der Leitung seines Chefdirigenten Vladimir Jurowski in der Royal Festival Hall  ist in der künstlerisch glänzenden Saison  ein besonderes Highlight […] mehr ...

Isabelle van Keulen auf Tour mit der Amsterdam Sinfonietta

8. November 2016

Isabelle van Keulen ist diesen November wieder einmal zu Gast bei der Amsterdam Sinfonietta. In sechs Konzerten in verschiedenen Städten in den Niederlanden spielt sie das Violinkonzert „The […] mehr ...

Tango in Istanbul mit Isabelle van Keulen

14. Juni 2016

Mit ihrem Ensemble reist Isabelle van Keulen in dieser Woche nach Istanbul, wo die Musiker im Rahmen des Istanbul Music Festivals ihr feuriges Piazzolla – Programm zum Besten […] mehr ...

Isabelle van Keulen zu Gast bei dem Royal Ballet in Amsterdam

18. März 2016

„The Best of Balanchine“ so heißt das Projekt, das die beliebtesten Werke George Balanchines, des legendären Ballettchoreographen des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts, in 10 Aufführungen auf die Bühne bringt. Isabelle […] mehr ...

Isabelle van Keulen Ensemble auf Tournee

28. Januar 2016

Im Februar ist Isabelle van Keulen mit ihrem Ensemble unterwegs. In Spanien, Deutschland und der Türkei tritt die Tango-Combo auf, im Gepäck wie gewohnt die feurigen Tangos von […] mehr ...

Isabelle van Keulen & Ronald Brautigam

20. Oktober 2017

Isabelle van Keulen | Violine & Viola            Ronald Brautigam | Klavier   Programmvorschläge: Programm 1 L.v. Beethoven – Sonate für Violine und Klavier op. 12/1 D-Dur (evtl. […] mehr ...

Isabelle van Keulen mit dem Prazak Quartett 2018/2019/2020

18. Oktober 2017

In den kommenden Saisons vereint Isabelle van Keulen ihre langjährige Erfahrung als Geigerin und Bratscherin in verschiedensten Kammermusikformationen mit der einzigartigen tschechischen Quartett-Tradition des Prazak Quartetts. Die Programme, […] mehr ...

Isabelle van Keulen Ensemble – Tango

12. Oktober 2016

Astor Piazzollas Tango Nuevo stellt eine eigene Welt innerhalb des musikalischen Kosmos dar. Eben diese ist es, die Isabelle van Keulen so sehr faszinierte, dass sie mit ihrem […] mehr ...

07.12.2017
19:00 Uhr
Veranstalter
  • Isabelle van Keulen
Oslo – Konserthus
15.12.2017
19:30 Uhr
Veranstalter
  • Isabelle van Keulen
London – Wigmore Hall
08.01.2018
13:00 Uhr
Veranstalter
  • Isabelle van Keulen
London – Wigmore Hall
10.01.2018
20:00 Uhr
Veranstalter
  • Isabelle van Keulen
Bonn – Beethoven-Haus
26.01.2018
19:30 Uhr
Veranstalter
  • Isabelle van Keulen
Warsaw – Philharmonic Concert Hall
27.01.2018
18:00 Uhr
Veranstalter
  • Isabelle van Keulen
Warsaw – Philharmonic Concert Hall

Keine Eintragungen.

EN DE
nach oben scrollen