Künstlersekretariat - Astrid Schoerke

Heinrich Schiff †

The cellist and conductor Heinrich Schiff can today look back on a career that spans many decades. After studying the cello with Tobias Kühne and André Navarra, he made his debut in Vienna and London in 1971. Since then, he has been a regular guest of all leading orchestras, at the big music centers and at major festivals in Europe, North America and Japan.

Heinrich Schiff has released recordings of the main cello repertoire, ranging from Vivaldi and Haydn to Lutoslawski and Zimmermann and has been awarded multiple prizes. His recording of the Bach Solo-Suites are seen as a milestone in Bach interpretation and have significantly influenced multiple generations of musicians that have followed. In addition, Schiff has accumulated widespread critical acclaim for his recording of the complete Beethoven works for cello and piano with Till Fellner.

Contemporary music plays an important role in Heinrich Schiff’s artistic work. He performed many premiers of contemporary works for cello. Furthermore, his interest in chamber music has been formative for his carreer as a cellist. His partners are Leif Ove Andsnes, Martin Helmchen, the Alban Berg Quartet and the Hagen Quartet, as well as Christian Zacharias and Peter Zimmermann in a trio formation.

While at the beginning of his career his work was centered around the cello, conducting gradually became more and more important to him. Beginning in 1985 and continuing on, conducting has come to play the more important role in his appearances.

Heinrich Schiff has held various positions as Chief Conductor and Principal Guest Conductor with the following orchestras: Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, Northern Sinfonia, Copenhagen Philharmonic, Musikkollegium Winterthur, Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart, Bruckner Orchester Linz and Chamber Orchestra Vienna. As an operatic conductor he has led, among others, productions at the Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie in Bruxelles (The Magic Flute, Fidelio).

His impressive work as a conductor is documented in numerous recordings, conducting orchestras such as the Northern Sinfonia, Philharmonia Orchestra and Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen. The repertoire of these recordings ranges from Haydn and Beethoven to Schreker, Krenek and Lutoslawski.

The Henrich Schiff School of Playing has strongly influenced many great cellists, and his intensive support and guidance has helped guide many to lead impressive careers. His commitment to young artists can also be seen in his work with youth orchestras such as SHMF Festival Orchestra, Young European Classic, the Verbier Chamber Orchestra and many more.

Any amendments or cuts need the consent of Künstlersekretariat Astrid Schoerke.

Photo: Basta

No entries.

No entries.

No entries.

No entries.

EN DE
nach oben scrollen

Künstlersekretariat - Astrid Schoerke

Heinrich Schiff †

Der Dirigent und Cellist Heinrich Schiff konnte auf eine jahrzehntelange Karriere zurückblicken. Nach seinem Cellostudium bei Tobias Kühne und André Navarra debütierte er 1971 in Wien und London. Er war regelmäßig bei allen bedeutenden Orchestern, in den großen Musikzentren und bei den wichtigen Festivals in Europa, den USA und Japan zu Gast.

Im Laufe seiner Karriere spielte Heinrich Schiffs das gesamte wesentliche Cello-Repertoire von Vivaldi bis Zimmermann ein und erhielt dafür mehrere Auszeichnungen. Die Einspielung der Bach Solo-Suiten wurde als Meilenstein der Bach-Interpretation bezeichnet und hat nachfolgende Musikergenerationen maßgeblich beeinflusst. Begeistert aufgenommen wurde die Gesamtaufnahme von Beethovens Werken für Cello und Klavier mit Till Fellner. Die Beschäftigung mit zeitgenössischer Musik nahm einen wichtigen Platz ein. So brachte er eine Reihe von Cellokonzerten zur Uraufführung.

Auch der Kammermusik galt Heinrich Schiffs Interesse. Zu seinen Partnern gehörten Leif Ove Andsnes, Martin Helmchen, das Alban Berg Quartett und das Hagen Quartett, sowie im Trio Christian Zacharias und Frank Peter Zimmermann.

Während das Cello zu Beginn seiner Karriere im Mittelpunkt stand, gewann das Dirigieren ab 1985 in seinen musikalischen Aktivitäten zunehmend an Bedeutung. Zuletzt bildete die Arbeit als Dirigent den größten Teil seines Schaffens.

Heinrich Schiff hatte verschiedene Positionen als Chef- oder Gastdirigent bei der Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, Northern Sinfonia, Copenhagen Philharmonic Orchestra, Musikkollegium Winterthur, Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart, Bruckner Orchester Linz und dem Wiener KammerOrchester inne. Als Operndirigent leitete er unter anderem die Produktionen der „Zauberflöte“ und des „Fidelio“ am Theater La Monnaie in Brüssel.

Seine Arbeit als Dirigent dokumentieren CD-Eispielungen mit Orchestern wie der Northern Sinfonia, dem Philharmonia Orchestra und der Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen. Das Repertoire dieser Einspielungen reicht von Haydn und Beethoven bis zu Schreker, Krenek und Lutosławski.

Zahlreiche großartige Cellisten entstammen Heinrich Schiffs Schule, verdanken ihm ihre Prägung und eine intensive Begleitung auf ihren künstlerischen Wegen. Heinrich Schiffs Engagement für junge Künstler zeigte sich auch in der Leitung und Zusammenarbeit mit Jugendorchester wie dem SHMF Festivalorchester, Young European Classic und dem Verbier Chamber Orchestra und vielen mehr.

Heinrich Schiff ist am 23. Dezember 2016 in Wien verstorben.

Trauer um Heinrich Schiff

24. Dezember 2016

Wir trauern um Heinrich Schiff, der gestern im Kreise seiner Freunde in Wien verstorben ist. Mit Heinrich Schiff haben wir einen begnadeten Musiker, eine faszinierende Persönlichkeit und einen […] mehr ...

Keine Eintragungen.

Keine Eintragungen.

Keine Eintragungen.

EN DE
nach oben scrollen